Super Junior’s Ryeowook Talks Inspiration Behind New Solo Album

Super Junior’s Ryeowook
(Photo: Twitter/SJofficial)

K-pop fans, rejoice! After a two-year break from the spotlight, Super Junior's Ryeowook is back with a new mini solo album, "Drunk on Love."

Ahead of the release of his new album, Super Junior's Ryeowook opened up about how his two-year mandatory military service provided creative inspiration on his new songs. In an interview The Korea Herald, he recalled how his fans deeply influenced his upcoming album.

During his two-year mandatory military service, the 31-year-old singer and musical actor suddenly thought about his fans while stargazing in Jeungpyeong County, North Chungcheong Province, South Korea. He was, then, inspired to pen a poem titled "Blue Star" for them.

After he completed his enlistment, Super Junior's Ryeowook immediately composed a song based on the "Blue Star" poem he had written. The said song is said to be one of his favorite tracks from his upcoming solo album "Drunk on Love."

"I'd written letters, sometimes a poem, every month to our fans and I got the idea for the song's title from there, as its lyrics are very honest and deliberate, like an actual letter," Ryeowook, whose real name is Kim Ryeo Wook, told the publication. "I adore every track on it, all of which deserve to be chosen as a lead track. I wish people could enjoy the album in all seasons, not just in winter."

"Drunk on Love," which marks Super Junior's Ryeowook's first album in about three years, features seven songs, namely "I'm Not Over You," "One and Only," "Drunk in the Morning," "Without You," "Something Good," "Sugar," and "The 2nd Story (Special Track)."

Aside from his upcoming solo album, Super Junior's Ryeowook also shared his life goals after completing the two-year mandatory military service. He hopes to hold his first ever solo concert in the future and thrive well in the musical prodigy genre.

He is also looking forward to the day all Super Junior members - Leeteuk (whose real name is Park Jeong Su), Yesung (whose real name is Kim Jong Woon), Heechul (whose real name is Kim Hee Chul), Kangin (whose real name is Kim Young Woon), Shindong (whose real name is Shin Dong Hee), Eunhyuk (whose real name is Lee Hyuk Jae), Sungmin (whose real name is Lee Sung Min), Siwon (whose real name is Choi Si Won), Donghae (whose real name is Lee Dong Hae) and Kyuhyun (whose real name is Choi Kyu Hyun) - get reunited.

"Drunk on Love" is set to arrive on Dec. 11.

© 2019 Business Times All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Sign Up for Newsletters and Alerts